Skip to content

Mark Appleyard

July 29, 2010

Four years ago, my senior year of high school, I took a ten day trip to Europe traveling throughout France and Spain.  While skating through the streets of Barcelona I ran into professional skateboarder Mark Appleyard.  Definitely a surreal experience, one where you sort of can’t believe is happening.  Stuttering, I manage to make out the words, “Are you Mark Appleyard?” It was a genuine meeting, talked briefly, real nice guy, and had him sign his Globe ad in my Thrasher Magazine, and snapped a photo.  I asked him where the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Barcelona (MACBA) plaza and the Barcelona big four were and he directed me.  I skated the plaza for a couple hours and then had to meet back up with my group.  Meeting Mark Appleyard and skating the legendary skate spot MACBA were definitely highlights of my trip.   I look forward to making another trip back to Barcelona in the near future.  For now Ill shred it in Monfuckintana!

MACBA Plaza

MACBA Plaza

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

